I've been thinking about this and I have to wonder, is it possible that the people here are eating better than us? Regardless of the fact that they don't get all the nutrients they need and it doesn't taste great, everything they eat is natural. They buy their rice from down the mountain, they have their corn from nearby fields… no pesticides, no chemicals. But, on the other side of things, practically everything we eat (which we assume is better for us) either generally has at least one ingredient in it we can't pronounce (i.e. chemicals galore) or were grown with pesticides and other substances in genetically modified food, or are overdosed with high fructose corn syruptrans fats, preservatives (do I need my burger to stay without rotting for 6 months?… no I don't think so) and more. There's no way any of that can be good for us. But, on the other hand, it is possible for people to survive on what they eat here… So, this makes me wonder, if we ate what they do and still lived in a society that has the means to cure cholera, HIV/AIDS and so on, whether or not our deaths would be a lot more natural and cause free... more the way it should be. We would be dying because it's just our time, not because of heart disease, strokes and diabetes
      So, unless you are careful and have the money to buy all the farm-raised, organic, antibiotic-free stuff, I think I have to admit that the food here would be better for us. Here, they don't eat chocolate, processed foods, anything with fructose corn syrup or anything else I just mentioned... they eat vegetables, rice, protein (beans, meat, fish)… it's not that bad. Although it contradicts many people's initial thoughts, I think I'm healthier with the food I eat here than what I usually eat. 

LM



Leave a Reply.