"Sometimes you have to pick the gun up to put the gun down" 
Malcolm X

      If you want to get a message across and really change a society, do you need violence? If your views are so radical, people won't want to listen to you. Or is that just what sets the great revolutionists from the rest? The ability to get their ideas across without violence. Even Ghandi used violence- in self defence. But, isn't a just revolution self defence?
      It seems to me like a million of innocent lives are being lost every day with the disregard and ignorance of too many. Does a few more make a difference? People are afraid of change, they will only listen to what they want to hear, so, how do you get them to listen? Get them scared? 
      How many successful peaceful revolutions have there been? (Which brings up a whole different problem of how to measure success). But really, how many have there been? I can't answer the question myself but, I know that it's not too many. Compared to the abundance of violent ones, the peaceful ones seem like the great minority. So is violence the key to success?
     Yes, nonviolent revolutions are becoming more and more common as of the beginning of the 20th century, but is the change they brought comparable?

So, I ask, violence or pacifism? 


I'm not trying to saying anything through this. I haven't even made up my own mind on the matter, it really is just a thought. 

LM



Leave a Reply.