I don't want to leave. Ever. 

      I really don't want to go back anymore. I've been asking for it for a while, but now I don't want to. I've developed relationships with all (or most) of the Terre Froide people and they are great. I've become friends with the people I met at the conference and on top of that there are all the Global Potential people that I love. .. I don't want to leave because of the people here. Everyone, they are family now. 
      Staying was a struggle for me at first, because I was sick; I spent a total of twelve full days in Haiti: I had a cold for seven, stomach problems for eight and I wasn't able to eat for five... but for the last day or two I was fine. Healthy. Enjoying myself. Being sick wasn't so great, but it was bearable. Yes, my Haitian mum's cooking wasn't so great either, but I could eat elsewhere. Everything else, the food, the shower, the bed, everything, it was tolerable. It was all a new experience and that was refreshing.
      To be honest, when we arrived at the airport and I saw a TV playing, a lady wearing makeup, a man on Facebook on his iPhone, and all these big designer labels: Gucci, Prada, Louis Vuitton, everything... it just made me feel sick. All these things that we value as a society. It threw me off. Why do we lead our lives this way? I personally despise hypocrisy, but I know that I will slowly go back into being like the people I'm currently looking at with disgust. I know that I will start to refill my life with useless distractions. Because that's just the way it is. But, it makes me want to stay here. Where I'm not tempted by those things. Staying in Haiti, and in Terre Froide specifically, would mean staying in a life where it's just you, the environment and the people around. Not where you are more concerned with whichever screen it is you're staring at. I want to stay here, where people have their priorities and values straight. 

I know I have to leave. 
I know I will slowly go back into my regular life.
I know that, I, too, will have moments when I forget what's actually important. 
But, I know that I will never be able to view our screwed global society the same way again. 
Either way, I don't want to. My views have been flipped upside down, and it's going to stay that way. 

LM



Leave a Reply.