I don't know why exactly, but I had a good feeling about coming to Haiti, that I was going to enjoy it. I was so excited to see what my mom had been talking about and to be able to see what was like for my mother first hand. For me family comes first, so coming to Haiti wasn't just to get involved in a community and help others but to experience a whole new life. Unfortunately I was unable to visit the family members that are currently living there but getting to at least see and eat like they do was great too. Having visited other Haitian family members that live in U.S.A I had knew that they were very welcoming and made sure you had enough food on your plate for 3 other people.
      When we arrived in Terre Froide we greeted with a welcoming ceremony, which had singing and dancing by the youth in Terre Froide. They performed for at least one to two hours it was a little overwhelming for having just arrived, the more the merrier. 
      After finally settling into our new homes my mom and I had to got to the bathroom which was cement blocks on top of a whole with mosquitos flying around. Unfortunately I wasn't relaxed enough to use it so I was clogged up for a good four to five days. Thankfully later that week my mom had introduced me to my new best friend also known as bucket. There was a bucket in out room for late night potty breaks but let's just say it became a portable potty. Let's just say that rushing water isn't quiet or soft sound on a ceramic bucket in the middle of the night. A girl has to do what a girl has to do. 

TZ 



Leave a Reply.