To define this trip in one word: amazing... I don't even know where to start... 

      I found Cambodia, as a country, to be very unique. It may have a similar culture to other countries in Southeast Asia, but it stands alone. It stood alone through its recent history and now it stands alone in its diversity, and I'm not just talking about the diversity of people. It's a lot more than that. There are no two places in this country that are the same (Phnom Penh and Siem Reap are like two different countries!) and absolute poverty could be wedged in between complete luxury. Aside form just variety, everyone here is so open, kind and passionate towards the future of their country. They allow themselves to be filled with hope and that's amazing to witness. 
      As for Rustic Pathways, I found everything from the staff and the program to the food and accomodations enjoyable. The staff... that is the staff on our trip, were not only that, but also our friends. They created a comfortable environment in which everyone could get along and where the rules weren't so strict that it limited us from having fun. They trusted us, we were treated like mature, independant people and they didn't baby us; I respect that. 
      The actual structure of our program was very ideal as well. We did many, many interesting things, but the days weren't too crammed either. Despite all the different activities we were able to fit in, we still had downtime which allowed us to relax and bond with one another. The home stay, which was the part of the trip that required the most adapting, was well transitioned into and out of; we didn't go straight to the village when we arrived in Cambodia nor did we end the trip there. We were given a chance to dip our feet in before being completely submerged into this different lifestyle (and they didn't yank us out of the pool either). It was right in the middle and well planned- one of the strengths of this trip. All in all, the program was well-structured, balanced and had enough of all three aspects: NGO's, service and temple-visiting/recovery (as well as some history blended in there). 
      (In addition, we were well accomodated and well-fed. No not in 5 star luxury hotels and restaurants). 
      I'm trying to think of my least favourite aspect of the trip and I'm struggling. The only time I was anything but happy was that half hour in the village when I was frustrated at all the kids... but even that has nothing to do with Rustic Pathways. The only down-side to this organisation is that it can be a bit expensive at times, but, they do offer the opportunity to earn a grant like I did. I can tell you one thing, if all the trips are as good as my own experience, I think that it's definitely worth it. Considering all the activities the different programs include, it's also understandable why the price may be so high. As a result, even that disadvantage is debatable. The only real problem, which has nothing to do with Rustic Pathways, is that your group/the other participants, could really make or break your trip. For us, that was far from an issue; we became closer in these last two weeks than I am with some of the people I've known for years. Unfortunately, the organisation can't limit what kind of person signs up for each program. So, yes, I definitely do recommend Rustic Pathways, you just have to pick the right program that won't attract the wrong people.
      This experience is one that I hope to never forget. I leave with a new understanding of international issues, relationships formed with people who live all around the world, knowledge about NGOs and social enterprises that I can work with in the future, an appreciation for what really matters, a grasp of the perks of simple living and so much more. I will always remember all the inspiring work of the many NGOs in Phnom Penh, the walk to and from the village school every day listening to the young voices screaming "Hello!", and the breathtaking beauty of Angkor Watt, Bayon and Ta Prohm temples. Cambodia was a truly life-changing experience, and I couldn't be happier that I signed up for the trip.

I left an hour ago... and I already miss it. 

LM



Leave a Reply.