I just realised that I haven't looked in a mirror or even seen one since I got to the village. To be honest, it's kind of refreshing. We're caring more about how we affect other people, rather than what we look like, which is how it should be. Now I understand why the kids always want to see the pictures we took of them: that's the only chance they have to know what they look like. I also now realise why they smile so much when I tell them they're beautiful: because they are without even trying. It's natural. That is a stimulating change. 
      The experience reflects what is more important. I mean, a lot of people know that helping others should come before their appearance, but they don't understand it and actually act on it. There is no point in spending 45 minutes staring at yourself in the mirror when you can spend it doing something that matters; something that affects others positively... like what we're doing now. 

LM 



Leave a Reply.